Announcing the Selected Photographs

For seven months prior to the opening of Terra Cotta Warriors, the National Geographic Museum held an online photo challenge using the photo-sharing site Flickr. Over 300 images were submitted by people describing their photos from their interactions with the warriors, here.

We have chosen two of those photos to be on display during the exhibit. The first comes courtesy of Jordi Cordina.

jordi codina- photo pool

In his words:
“During my travels to China, I visited Xi’an with the terracotta warriors in mind. Until I saw it, I couldn’t imagine the magnitude of the monument. There were hundreds of those statues, each one different from the others. The vastness and uniqueness of the work impressed me, so I felt that I had to bring at home a more detailed view of one of those warriors. I was lucky to visit an exhibit near the archaeological deposit, and took a portrait of one warrior. The dimmed light and the vision of the warrior seemed to capture the ancient times when this monument was constructed.”

Leave a Reply

